Please Help! Questions on spraying Latex paint, compressors and more.

J

Joseph Valentin

Hello everybody,

This is my first attempt in asking airbrush questions so I ask how would I go about spraying latex paint? Specifically monster makers RD-407 mask making latex as well as their latex paint base and perm-wet gloss varnish. I would also like to spray latex house paint if possible. I just recently bought the Iwata LPH-80 124 G with the 1.2mm fan cap from Japan for $170 as well as Iwata HP-Th (.5mm cap) also from Japan for $151. (This is the same as the Kustom TH from the US without the aluminum case and the moisture grip filter for around $450 plus tax). Eventually I am going to get the Iwata Custom Micron CM-C2 or the Olympos Custom M-200 B. For the compressor I plan on getting the California Air tools CAT 6310 or save up more money for the Silentaire Super Silent DR 500. I have heard others using the Paasche H or the Critter 118 Siphon gun to spray latex but I wanted to go all out and buy the top of the line airbrushes/spray guns since I own a prop/costume business and want to provide top of the notch quality with high atomization finish. The reason I need latex is because latex is very flexible and is beneficial to prime and paint my EVA foam Dragon Ball Z battle armor. Because it is body armor it needs as much flexibility as possible in order to last longer. Also please don tell me to use plasti-dip. I have had enough with spray cans!

Thanks

Only thing on spray the latex is it will need some reduction even in the 1.2 spray gun. I am not sure how that will effect the over all finish you are looking for.
Krylon makes some great special effects makeup and body paints that are designed for what you are wanting as an end goal.
Now run along to the introduction section and make a proper introduction :D which you can find here http://www.airbrushforum.org/introductions/
Also I moved this from the step by step section to the newbie question area.

Hi, Joseph.