Polished needle problem(s)

J

Joh-oh

Hello. I'm a noob so excuse me. I polished the needle on my eclipse hp-bs and revolution cr. I also polished and installed soft springs for both guns (not the Blair ones) and tampered with the needle springs. Both guns operate heavenly. But. It seems like it threw the needles off a bit. When they get tip dry it's notorious. Also, after a few minutes of operation I have to pull the trigger farther back to get paint. One good thing is it seems like I need less air pressure to move paint. Is it me or does it seem that the air flows faster? Is this typical?

Well not sure how you polished your needle , But if you do it wrong or to high of speed it can put the end of the needle off center or the nozzle may have slipped just a hair when reinstalling it.. As far as softer springs , I really have not found a use for a softer spring on an IWATA airbrush being you can dial the spring tension down on them .
As for tip dry ?? Scratches in the needle helps aid tip dry so the more glass like finish you can get on the needle the less tip dry you will have .
Air flows at the same rate being you are not enlarging the air ports of the brush But the paint should flow smoother.

Now go and make a introduction post so we may greet you and get to know you ...

agree with you on all that herb... one thing though... i have had a go with a micron which did have the softer (75g of pressure) spring and it was b.... e....a.....utiful
i am referring to the valve spring though.. not needle spring... as you say you can just wind that back until there is litterally no tension at all

Have to agree with Herb, probablely didn't polish the needle fine enough.

And yes Fez, the soft valve springs are a dream, I have them in all my Iwata's.