Preparing BMX/rollerblade helmet?

M

MadAsA

I'll be using Createx Wicked paint and was wondering what sort of prep do i need to do to airbrush a plain black matt helmet.

My thinking was to just wash it and then paint, but thought i would ask here first.

Do I need to use adhesion promoter or a primer or can i just lay a base layer of paint. I am assuming as its a matt helmet i wont need to sand down...is this correct?

Many thanks.

PS. Just incase it helps...its the black version of this helmet:
http://www.locoskates.com/protec-classic-helmet-matte-red/p1892

Last edited by a moderator:
from my understanding of the process:

scuff
adhesion promoter/primer
base coat (optional)
artwork

but I would like that confirmed by our learned friends :)

cool sounds like i now have everything i need to get started.

thankfully its only a tiny project as i am still a airbrush noob.

Thanks

Flycatcher hit it on the nose ,
The base coat would be needed because we don't know what kind of paint was used on your helmet .
You can't paint water based paint over oil it will not bond and peel off badly .
So if you are unsure always prime it cant hurt.

I would add a few more steps to Flys process:
clean with wax and grease remover
scuff with red scotchbrite pad
clean with wax and grease remover
wipe with tack cloth
spray adhesion promoter
spray Auto Air Sealer white or Sealer dark
smooth Sealer with 600 grit dry paper
clean with wax and grease remover or mineral spirits
spray a base coat color if needed
airbrush your artwork
2k clear

JT's process is identical to what I do, IF it has a good basecoat on it already, not need to use the Auto Air Sealer, at least I never do, others may see differently. If the base is good, I use all of Fly's and JTs steps excluding the Auto Air Sealer, then just shoot what base color I want and clear

If you sand the helmet you do not need adhesion promoter primer does the same function keep it simple

scuff with red scotch brite pad