Pressures?

A

ac322j

Im a newbie still so im trying to figure out what works for me but sometimes i have troubles... Im using a badger 155 anthem syphon bottom feed ab with wicked paints reduced maybe 1:1 or further reduced for certain colors and a lot of reducing for white cuz it likes to clog my brush. Im using around 30 psi and only doing work on poster board for now(very slightly absorbant). I have troubles doing detailed lines semi dark and sharp. Its like its either got no paint coming out cuz ita clogged or the line gets too dark and slightly runny. Is my psi too high? Or can this ab not do as fine of lines as im trying to do? Or is the reducing wrong? Im new to this and if im gonna have to be using a lot of reducer i need to know so i can start advancing with detailed work. ANY help is appreciated. PLEASE VISIT MY PROFILE TO VIEW MY ARTWORK AND COMMENT/GIVE ADVICE. Or ideas lol Thank you all.

An airbrush can achieve as fine a line as the operator can perform... some do thinner lines that other yes but PRACTICE is the real key and will get you 80% (or maybe 90%) of the way there, then it's brush set up, etc. What needle size is it? Might be thinning, might be you need to strain the paint (common) might be that the paint is bad for tip dry,...

What kind of thinning should i be doing for paper detail work?? Does more reducing help with tip dry?

To achieve detail you require at least the following:
thin paint,
low pressures,
small nozzle,
speed.

The norm seems to be:
1:10 (paint:reducer)
5-10psi
.2 mm or less needle
As fast as possible for speed

To achieve detail you require at least the following:
thin paint,
low pressures,
small nozzle,
speed.

The norm seems to be:
1:10 (paint:reducer)
5-10psi
.2 mm or less needle
As fast as possible for speed
Thats helpful thanks. I knew i would need to use a lot more reducer.... Oh well