Prevent needle crashing into nozzle

BullBuchanan

Young Tutorling
Hey all,

I'm a fairly novice airbrush user focused on painting miniatures and over the last two days I've had two nozzles on two different airbrushes (Patriot 105 and Iwata eclipse get ruined - one split and one flared) by the spring loaded mechanism that pushes against the airbrush sticking in the compressed position and then working free which shot the needle forward and overextended through the nozzle.

With the badger it happened while I was cleaning primer out of my cup and with the Iwata it happened as I was testing the trigger after a full teardown, clean and reassembly after acquiring it yesterday. This is an expensive and massive headache.

In the year or so I've been airbrushing, I think this is responsible for all of my damaged nozzles. Has this happened to anyone else and what did you do to prevent it?

@DaveG any chance you can translate ?

Bull, my thoughts are that you’ve pushed the needle too far forward befor tightening the needle chuck and you’re letting the trigger ‘snap shut’

The solution is pretty easy - don't do that!

On the Badger, there is that "T" slot at the back, which makes it possible for the auxiliary lever to snag on occasion - just takes a bit of time to develop the muscle memory to never allow the trigger to return forward without your finger on it. If the aux lever jammed on the Eclipse, you simply assembled it wrong - and again, never allowing the trigger forward without a finger on it would catch the snap forward needle.