problem creating depth

S

Sgt Nellie

This is my first try at biomechanical. I'm having trouble creating any depth. Probably because I'm only using semi-opaque auto-air color. I'm practicing for work I'm going to be doing on a helmet. But at this rate I'm frustrated. Any tips or suggestions would greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMAG0499.jpg
    IMAG0499.jpg
    205.7 KB · Views: 60
If you have transparent base, add it to the paint, at least 4:1, then reduce. This will allow you to slowly build the tones to be able to build depth.

If you have transparent base, add it to the paint, at least 4:1, then reduce. This will allow you to slowly build the tones to be able to build depth.
Is transparent base a different kind of paint other than the transparent colors I have. In other words, would the bottle be labeled transparent base. I know this sounds like a lame question, but I'm pretty green to airbrushing.

Yes the transparent base is an unpigmented paint base. The transparent paints as well as the semi opaques can be made more transparent with the transparent base. It's one of your best friends along with reducer.

Hi, Wayne.
Sorry to jack the topic on depth, but when you say ' unpigmented base ', is it that this is just a carrier medium that will provide a surface for you to paint on and allow you to work [ erase, scratch or whatever ] to create the impression of depth to your work?
Being fairly ignorant on these things, I thought I'd ask.

Can you use this base on all colors? When I looked up auto-air's colorless base, it said it was recommended for use with candies . Can it be applied to all colors?

Hi, Wayne.
Sorry to jack the topic on depth, but when you say ' unpigmented base ', is it that this is just a carrier medium that will provide a surface for you to paint on and allow you to work [ erase, scratch or whatever ] to create the impression of depth to your work?
Being fairly ignorant on these things, I thought I'd ask.