Question about motorcycle helmet prep

A

ad fez

Hey folks. ... how you are all well. ...I recently purchased a cheap bike helmet as a promo practice piece. .... I'm not investing in new paints I'm just using what I have got laying around so probably wicked. ..
The helmet was black. ..I want it white so
I Sanded it with 800 dry and wet. . Primed with plastic primer and then a good layer of grey primer. .... I'm gonna use wicked white as a base through badger patriot.
Do I need to sand my primer before basing with wicked

Thanks in advance

I'm no expert but i would give it a go over with 800 again, nothing too coarse. just to get rid of an nibs and also to give it a key for the wicked white.
Theres probably someone on here who does this all the time.. Mick or Clive maybe.. of they see this.

lee

Squishy also does alot but she doesn't come on here till luke 4 a.m hehe

Auto air sealer white would be best over the primer then the white, but an extra coat of white will work also , incase you have to sand it smooth again before artwork.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

sand your primer smooth like Michele said. 800 grit will do just fine. When it comes to spraying your white base coat ... this is where a minigun comes into its own! To get total coverage with only an airbrush will take a lot of passes (and paint!) thats why i will even use a rattle can to spray my base blacks or whites and then start with the airbrush once the base is down. Its my personal preference as I'm
1) impatient
2) tight, when you consider the cost of wicked/illustration paints!

Squishy also does alot but she doesn't come on here till luke 4 a.m hehe