Question about sketching an image

M

MOchick

I'm a noob so forgive me. I have a couple of questions about sketching before airbrushing. I really want to get into doing more realistic type paintings from an image. I'm not sure exactly how to sketch the important parts. What are the important parts? I've seen videos that show the sketch before hand and it looks like a crazy bunch of lines to me! This would be a great tutorial video. I also want to know what kind of pencil to use for sketching. I recently did an abstract freehand painting on canvas. I used a regular pencil for a few reference lines but no matter how much I painted over them, they still came thru!! So frustrating! Thanks for any help!

When sketching , you paint, them erase the lines. You can also use watercolor pencils similar in color to your painting for sketching so they almost disappear if they wont erase all the way. Some surfaces also will not erase well. I have had my issues. I am still finding what works for me. So far graphite paper on the backside of poster board is ok , still get some lines left behind.

Look for Ricks post about the portrait class on Spreecast, he's doing this same thing, from reference to transfer to finished piece in 3 sessions. The first 2 are recorded so you can check out his method live, or it was. He is doing great with it and bringing along an old guy like
me and many others.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

There are so many ways to transfer an image to your surface that you are painting. Direct transfer by tracing. Projecting, Grid and out n out sketching.
Realism is well, it covers quite a few genres. Representational, sorta like the Impressionists, where you recognize what the subject is and it is realistic looking, but color is more important. Painterly, where it looks more like what you would see in an oil painting. It looks real but you can tell it's a painting. And then photo and hyper- realism.