Paint clean up problem

B

barry o'hagan

I'm new to this but my number one problem so far is that I can't seem to completely clean all the paint off when I use Testors water base Pearl or any of the silver. Does anybody know any tricks or solvents that do this, I always have a r\large amount of residue left on the bowl and the whole inside. I have to completely break down the gun and do a complete cleaning and it still has junk on it. There has to be someone who figured out how to remove this product, it's water based. Thank you.

Moderator edit: Some more information copies from a second post.
"I need to understand why I' m having trouble cleaning out the brush with Testers/azac water based paint The Pearl and Silver are my problem. If I use acetone it will break down the O rings,which are where?

I 'm using a Master S62."

Last edited by a moderator:
First what airbrush are you using?
Next acetone should take it all out but you do not want any rubber parts exposed to it.

and once that's done pop along to the intro section and say Hi! Where are you from? What do you paint? Gear you use? What got you into AB? Cheers Mark

OK so what are you doing to clean it out? What is the process you use? How long do you leave the paint in the bowl prior to cleaning?

OK so what are you doing to clean it out? What is the process you use? How long do you leave the paint in the bowl prior to cleaning?
I know ,I just sometimes get frustrated.So what I do is leave it in maybe 2-3 minutes then I wash with clean water maybe Ttwice then wash with solution and the brush still doesn't work right.Of course I was probably somewhat negligent with the way I treated the needle / tip so it always clogged
I really am a beginner with the only desire to paint great looking and useful ocean lures.
Can you give me guidance so I'm not so frustrated.
Barry