For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

SIMAIR fridge compressor - any info?

Discussion in 'Airbrush Compressors' started by [amw], Sep 11, 2018.


  1. [amw]

    [amw] Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    I got bored of my loud compressor (needed hearing protection to airbrush!) so bought one at the other end of the spectrum, similar to this:

    simair.jpg

    As you can see it's SIMAIR branded, but other than that I don't know anything about it (other than it works!).

    It is (obviously) a fridge-type compressor and has a small air reservoir in the handle. There is a pressure gauge on the back of the handle/tank and a bleeder-type control to adjust the pressure the tank reaches. This all seems to work ok - the gauge is a bit wonky, but that's not really a problem. I assume it was really supposed to used with a foot-switch or similar as there is no pressure switch to turn it off (might add one...).

    Does anyone have any information about this brand/model of compressor? I'd specifically like to know what kind of oil to put in it (I can take a semi-educated guess, but...) and what the maximum pressure it was rated for.
    HellBird and jord001 like this.
  2. Robbyrockett2

    Robbyrockett2 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2,857
    Likes Received:
    2,698
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    Not really , other than a lot of old ones had no pressure switch and were used with bleeder style regulators. Im sure you could use whatever oil is specd for a sil-air , which is probably what you meant by educated guess.
    Pretty cool find!
    HellBird and jord001 like this.
  3. huskystafford

    huskystafford Needle chucking Ninja

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    1,141
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Slovenia
  4. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    3,095
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    I have one similar by sim air only mine had a small air receiver only about a litre, nice and quiet but never switches off, it has a small pressure release valve which works like a radiator cap but you have a screw which you can screw in to give you more pressure. I fitted a regulator so i could regulate the air and it works good.

    $_86.JPG

    Lee
    HellBird, SiRoxx and huskystafford like this.
  5. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    3,095
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    I've thought about getting one of those for mine BUT I'd need to fabricate some sort of bracket for it to attach to the compressor, I don't want it as a separate thing. It can be done I just haven't got the time or resources at the moment. I suppose it could go in front of the small receiver that's already attached..


    Lee
    HellBird and huskystafford like this.
  6. huskystafford

    huskystafford Needle chucking Ninja

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    1,141
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I noticed they added 2.5l smaller one to their online store. They had only the bigger one few months ago. I feel you about resources. Each month I buy bunch of stuff for airbrushing, but I feel like I didn't touch bigger expenses which are planned in my I need to buy plan...
    HellBird, jord001 and Robbyrockett2 like this.
  7. Vladimir

    Vladimir Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    869
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Ukraine, Kiev
    Yours looks like exactly the same I've used for building one of my compressors. Here's the thread http://www.airbrushforum.org/threads/diy-ab-air-cooled-compressor.12543/
    Motor-compressor is from Danfoss. I had somewhere tech data for it, if you need that I could search.

    You can add pressure switch to your setup and you'll have normally working compressor. I'd add kinda 5-10l tank to it in order to have good compressor, if I were in your shoes.
    HellBird, jord001 and Robbyrockett2 like this.
  8. Vladimir

    Vladimir Detail Decepticon!

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    869
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Location:
    Ukraine, Kiev
    Forgotten to answer this.
    The specialists who I bought these from advised me to use regular compressor oil instead of special oil used for fridge. But I was lazy to change the oil completely and bought special one and added to that one inside compressors (mine was used in commercial fridges). But I wouldn't advise using special one, as on the bottle it's marked poisonous.

    I doubt, you have special oil in your compressor.

    I've switched cut off for 7 bar, but it's possible to set more. Originally, I've set up for 8, but new tank starts to air leak after 7 at the gasket:) China made, you know.
    I don't see any reason to set more than 8 bar.
    HellBird likes this.
  9. [amw]

    [amw] Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Neither do I! I'm not quite sure I trust the old receiver (and handle) of this compressor at 8 bar - I was thinking of starting at 6 and seeing what happens.

    I've got a regulator and I've ordered a pressure switch, so I should be able to set this up to (at least) switch on and off automatically. It will be doing that quite often (because of the small reserviour), but at least *I* won't have to do it (plus I will be able to remove the bleeder and it will stop making that 'hissing' noise!).

    If I can get that to work I'll probably try and add a tank - assuming I can find one at the right price - those 'airbrushing' tanks linked above are a little expensive, especially given the low pressure!
  10. Malky

    Malky Pencil Pushing Protagonist Very Likeable!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,736
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Kilsyth, Glasgow, Scotland, UK, Planet Earth
    Sometimes the cheapest way forward is to just canabolise a cheap loud Wal-Mart compressor, I mean everything you need is on there, you replace the loud motor with your fridge type, you'll have to play around a little with the piping but it's already got your cut off switch and your other safety stuff.
    Robbyrockett2 and HellBird like this.
  11. MarcosD

    MarcosD Mac-Valve Maestro!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Location:
    Ushuaia - Argentina
    You can use a 5kg fire extinguisher asa tank reservoir, I made mine with an 2,5 hp AC compressor and a 10 KG fire extinghuisher( it fills from 0 to 8 Bar in 40 sec and make 72 DB), a 5kg FE can be filled with 6+- liters at 8 Bar without any issue and you cand get them very cheap or even free, and they are rated to support way more pressure than regular compressors tank as they work with more than 8 Bar


    Enviado desde mi iPad utilizando Tapatalk
  12. [amw]

    [amw] Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Yes, I'm on the lookout for good priced compressors with broken motors. I'll have to add fire extinguishers to the list :)

    I've now added the pressure switch - it now switches itself on and off without my intervention!
    Robbyrockett2 likes this.

Share This Page