Siphon or gravity

F

Fallen Airbrushing

Newbie here wanting to know the advantages and disadvantages of both siphon feed and gravity feed airbrushes.

Peoples experiences would be greatly appreciated :)

For me it's just the preference of how it feels in my hand. I prefer gravity as I feel unbalanced with a siphon fed brush. However I know with siphon fed guns you can change the bottle, clean the gun, and then be ready to go with a different colour pretty quick. I just don't feel comfortable with them, I guess it's different for everyone, but that's my reason.

Agree with Squishy on that one for sure, everyone's has a comfort factor when it comes to guns, I like syphon fed as the bottle gives my other hand something to comfortably grip when wanting to control a stroke...One of the main differences is basically how much paint you can "store" on board..I do a bit of auto and large mural work so needless to say I want quite a big paint capacity or else I'd be stopping all the time to refill, I find I can also get the gun at a greater angle say if I'm leaning over a hood painting without as much chance at spillage, not something I'd confidently attempt with a gravity feed..Syphons are useful as well as mentioned for quicker paint change out but with a gravity feed you'll still come quite profficient at cleaning the bugger out quick...So its really a case of either or LOL and ultimately what kind of painting you desire to do..Auto, large work and T-Shirts etc I'd recommend syphon, fine detailing work and for reduced paint wastage I'd prob go a gravity, if you can afford to, one of each is prob the best idea.. :)..GL

Well this is a personal preference. I do prefer a gravity feed myself but I do have badger 150. With the gravity feed
you will have a quicker response with the paint. If your doing textiles like shirts, siphon feeds are the choice for most.