Spraying Clear with Airbrush(Ya I said it!)

J

Juicegoose

Thanks for any and all advice guys. I'm new to airbrushing and learning as much as I can. I am strictly using my airbrush(badger 105) to paint HOK kandy base coats, pearl base coats, on fishing reel seats. these are small items that generally only require around 3ml to get me 3-4 coats of coverage.
The question I have is around clear coats. I have bought am using the HOK show Klear system with the RU311 reducer. Testing on plastic spoons(because the reel seats are plastic) I'm getting good layout of the clear from my airbrush but wanted to know if I need to change anything to make sure I don't shoot myself in the foot.

I am using a airbrush over a small hvlp because I only have to mix roughly 3ml of clear at a time and that is enough to cover 3 wet coats.
Health note. I do shoot in my garage in Houston Texas. I have a small portable airbrush booth with a fan that exits under the closed garage door. I also shoot with a 3m mask on with charcoal filters. Not a full on suit though or fresh air system. Again we are talking very very small amounts.

Should I increase my compressor pressure when spraying clear? I generally have it set to 20PSI. I have noticed on a couple of my plastic test spoons that I'll get what looks like clear little balls(1 or two maybe) on a spoon. It might be that I'm not letting the clear flash properly and getting solvent bubbles.

Again I know the collective mind says spray with hvlp but I simply don't spray enough at a time. later on maybe but right now I'm stuck with what I got.

Also i have to use the 2 part for its harness. the reel seats can see some abuse.

Thanks again for all of your help or advice.

You should buy an airbrush just for the clear if that is what you will be using to clear with. Nothing wrong with using an airbrush for super small thing as a clear coat gun I have done this too on certain items but I have one airbrush that the only thing that goes in is clear.