stupid newbie mistakes

P

pugster

well this is not so much as a 'help needed' post as more of a newbie rant due to a stupid mistake (i could not find a mad rant area mods delete any swearing as you see fit)

...just decided to put the finishing touches on a painting ive been working on (i only get to practice once or twice a week so each one has a few hours in it as im still learning)
...ok , white paint in brush - i think i'll get away with masking just an inch or so over where im working at low pressure... looks good take the tape off and the whole bloody thing has a light white overspray across it .

motherforkingbarstewardtimewastingexcerciseyousillycountrypersonyouforkeditrightup

.....other than that the area i worked on looks ok , note to self - mask EVERYTHING off you are not working on in the future, even the damn easel.

Last edited by a moderator:
One day [maybe!} I'll post a pic of my easel.
Then you'll know why I'm Splasha!
If that's the case I should be called "Ripper" after ripping all the paint of my latest piece with the masking ......
I was told "show me a man who makes no mistakes and I will show you the man who does nothing!" .... Is the overspray really bad?

If that's the case I should be called "Ripper" after ripping all the paint of my latest piece with the masking ......
I was told "show me a man who makes no mistakes and I will show you the man who does nothing!" .... Is the overspray really bad?
Heat gun/hair dryer on the tape as you peel - I learnt this as I would have once been called ripper also!

As for over spray, you could try an eraser very lightly, being careful not to remove the work underneath, or if possible, take a very diluted paint the same colour as what's been over sprayed and lightly go over it, turning air pressure as low as possible?