Stuttering and blockage

Dranu

Young Tutorling
So I am a bit of a beginner airbrusher. I have used an Iwata Eclipse for about a year now and it works great.

Recently got an Iwata HP-BH. When it actually sprays with its 0.2mm needle its is great, but I can hardly go 2 minutes without some stuttering/sputtering of paint or blockage. This can even happen using inks, not just thinned down acrylics. I have tried various things, like thorough cleaning, but nothing seems to help. Given even inks do this I doubt Im not thinning enough, and I rarely spray under 15 psi, and normally am around 25psi. Any thoughts? Perhaps I have a defective model?

Is there any dry paint or ink on the needle tip? Could be tip dry. Or even though you think its clean enough, there could be something inside the nozzle causing blockage and thus the sputtering. Ive had both happen.

i doubt its a defective model, its likely a 'cleaning issue'
Yeah i know you cleaned it... we've all been there, but it usually comes good on the 5th clean lol

you will need to soak the nozzle in something that will work with what you have previously used, if its the acrylic then get hold of some Createx Restorer, or some Isopropyl at a pinch, just don't drop your seals in it as well, let it soak for 24 hrs.
Use a long bristled artist brush to agitate inside the nozzle to dislodge the crude. When you reassemble the brush make sure the threads are clean, use some beeswax/chapstick (miniscule amount) to help seal the threads. Dont overtighten or you risk damaging threads.
Try spraying water (as you would when airbrushing ) for 5 minutes to see if you get the stuttering. If you dont then try with the ink, if you then start to get stuttering again the it may well be tip dry - yes even with ink!
If the acrylics arent Airbrush specific then the pigment may be to large for a .2mm nozzle and cause issues - reducing acrylics doesnt reduce pigment size just pigment load
Keep us updated

Welcome dragon.jpg