total newb here ....advice on airbrushing please - home improvement project

saltysandman

Young Tutorling
hi all,

i do have a couple hours of experience back in the 80's airbrushing some f-14's but remember very little these days and much less on airbrushing. i'm doing some home improvement projects and i paid a helluva a lot of $$ to have a painter come and re-stain my wooden handrails. now i want to paint the black iron spindles on the handrails. silver, nickel, or gunmetal would be a great upgrade in color. thought of spray paint from a can but i got bogged down with all the prep (sanding, primer, sanding, drop clothes, taping (probably still need to tape). then i thought it would probably still not look as good as airbrushing. so like most people, i started on youtube but only found a couple people using spray cans with compressors but again so much prep. basically, had to tent the house. anyway, thought id consult with some experts about airbrushing. landed here.

my questions.
  1. do i need a primer before i airbrush?
  2. how much paint will i need? i have 1200 sq inches of spindle. they are 30.5" long by 0.5" wide (x's 4 sides), so that's 30.5 x 2.5 (gave some buffer) or about 76 sq inches per spindle . i have 16 spindles so a total of 1216 sq inches. i think my math is correct.
  3. will i need a top coat to protect it? spindles rarely get touched but maybe grazed. biggest worry is if someone scrapes it accidently (moving furniture etc.)
  4. decent airbrush kit recommendation?
  5. where can i buy metallic airbrush paint? didn't see any on amazon. or do i have to mix?
  6. any other pitfalls you guys can think of?
i truly appreciate any resources for my lofty by i think do-able project.

-salty

Hey Salty,