Total newbie from Worcestershire UK

Simonthomas13

Young Tutorling
Hi all,

Simon here from Worcester UK.

Been wanting to try my hand at airbrushing for as long as I can remember and have now finally decided to pull the trigger! (could that possibly be 2 puns!?)

I went with the Neo/Iwata airbrush and a compressor recommended by a few helpful people on the Airbrush UK Facebook page, that has the 3l tank, water trap and adjustable pressure gauge.

I don't have a particular end goal in sight, as I would like to do a mixture of general artwork (maybe on canvases, metal - I've heard a good old baking tray is good to practise on?, and eventually do some RC Bodies at some point)

I'm having a bit of a hard time figuring out what paints would be best for me to start with. I like the idea of the opaques, as from what I've researched so far I understand they're a bit more forgiving as they will only really go as dark as the pigment itself, so a bright red would only go bright red even if overworked, but then I'm not sure if I'd prefer the layering approach of the transparent paints for texture and depth.

If anyone has any input on paints for a total beginner it would be hugely appreciated! (please also correct me on the above if I've totally got that wrong!)

Looking forward to spending more time trawling through the forum trying to soak up the plethora of information here!

Thanks

Welcome aboard! Glad to have you here.

Everyone around these parts is super friendly and there is a lot of knowledge here.

A Neo is a good place to start. It's affordable, and will do pretty much anything a beginner will put it through. There are more advanced brushes, but until you have a solid foundation, and have developed the hand for it, and know what you want out of an airbrush, it is best to put off dropping much more money.