Using Tube Watercolors

M

Minouris

Hi all :)

I'm just starting out, painting models, but I also want to try to shift from digital art to paper.

I'm thinking of picking up a tray of watercolor tubes, so I can dilute and shoot them (mostly because it's a lot cheaper than acrylics, and I already spent a fortune on supplies ;)).

Are these paints safe with an airbrush? Most of the ones sold locally are either bound with gum arabic, or don't have their binder labelled on the tube, so I'm a bit hesitant about just jumping in...

What solvents would I use to clean an airbrush after watercolors? I have acetone, Tamiya acrylic thinner, and Tamiya airbrush cleaner.

Thanks,
Mike

Yes, you can put them through the airbrush, yes, you reduce watercolours with water, yes, you clean the brush out with water...

No, they won't work very well, yes, it will look patchy and crap.

The pigments are much coarser than what is used for an airbrush, all in all it won't be very satisfactory.

Couple of things to do... first, please be polite and go to the intro section and say Hi properly, where are you, what gear do you use, that sort of thing. Second, but paint suitable for use through an airbrush. Yes, they are expensive but they last a long time.

Just about any of those solvents should be fine to clean with. Try to avoid the acetone in the trigger area. Because of the rubber seals.
Your paint path in the brush is basically all brass,chrome, stainless and teflon so you can see why its not real sensitive to what cleaner.
The paint wont be ideal as basically the only ideal paints for airbrush are either made for airbrush or are automotive paints but it should work. Ive used about every craft paint there is for practice or bs work. There is some merit to practicing with the paint you intend to actually use though.

Strain it for sure once youve thinned it down for use though or youll be rather frustrated with clogs.