Using up paint very quickly...

P

Photon Fox

Hi, total newbie here.

Tried out my new Iwata Eclipse airbrush today (using an Iwata Studio Series Smart Jet Pro compressor). My issue is that I'm using up the paint in the cup very quickly, and the coverage seems poor.

The paint I'm using is some basic artists acrylic that I thinned with water, and then added Golden airbrush medium to. The finished mixture would've been just a tad thicker than water, maybe like skim milk? Is this the wrong consistency?

Cheers.

Hi Fox!:)
Seems like I know what the moderators will tell you about your first post here;)

About your paint. It's overreduced. Milk consistency would be better in your situation. Don't stop experimenting with the reduction you'll find right one for ya:)
I had that experience with art acrylics:confused: I'd say it's headache bacause of fast tip clogging and tip dry. It's impossible to work with 0.2mm nozzle! When starting with 0.3mm or bigger nozzle is much better to work. But generally those paits from the tubes aren't that we need for ABing.
I used Daeler Rowney System 3, Marabu and some chinese acrilycs and should say there's not much difference between them. All of them are not for ABing:)

Try to buy normal AB paints. Many people here like E-tac.

Last edited:
Hi Vladimir, :)

Thanks for the reply. Yeah I probably should've just gone with proper AB paints, but I'm on a budget and was so keen to get started! Thanks for the tip about the consistency though. :)

As for the comment about the moderators; did I do something wrong? :(

No, it's almost OK:) Go here http://www.airbrushforum.org/introductions/ read netiquette first and create your introduction post;) Then you'll be forgiven, it's a joke:D