Velocity to Krome modification?

R

Rigo

I own a velocity and spirit airbrushes. I have read some reviews where the author says that the Krome AB is a tuned version of the Velocity AB. If that is the case, can I modify my two renegades to perform as well as the Krome? Because I don't see the point to spend more money on buying a Krome AB when I only need to buy the additional parts to convert the my ABs I already have to Krome performance.

In the case that this modification can not happen, then besides the Krome which other airbrushes can do good to great detail and can still be a all around airbrush?
My goal is to do automotive art. I am new to this medium, I know there is a learning curve. I want to make the investment on a good airbrush that is going to give me good results more often than frustrations. So far I can not get my Renegade ABs to do fine line. I have tried reducing the paint, use low PSI and nothing. I either get spidering, clogging or broken lines. I don't get those fine lines in a consistent basis.

I have Daniel Powers DVDs and I have improve so much my hand to eye coordination, and I know I have a decent control over the airbrush.

Equipment used
Velocity AB with the .21mm set up,
Golden Airbrush colors, Shading grey and Carbon black, airbrush extender and water.

Thanks so much for any advice on any of the questions. Rigo.

I'm sure the Krome is just a chrome version of the Verlocity with a tapered cup. The 0.21 setup is the smallest that Badger makes. Even the Sotar uses that.

Maybe you should try other paint like Createx Illustration colours, Com-art or E'tac.

It is, Josh aka @Seamonkey did this previously, there is a couple of bits that need changing but it's mostly the in the trigger system