whats best to practice painting on?

H

hughie1987

Like the title says haha Ive been using just construction paper or regular printer paper and wonder if that's fine because it seems like I never see anyone else doing it, everyone uses some kind of board or metal and Im not going to practice on metal until Im ready to do actual work haha thx for reading

I bought myself an A3 sketchbook then, it's paper is a bit thicker and absorbs the paint very well and rather cheap as well.

I use almost anything for practice so long as it's cheap and available. I save my illustration board and canvas when I want to paint anything that might be worth keeping.

Hi Hughie, from PA and welcome....I am new to airbrushing also but as for me I use water based paints (valejo) just because I can get it locally and I get the heavy construction paper(basically like card stock) at the dollar store because its cheap and I buy black and white in 2' x 3' sheets 2 for $1. Foam board would be more suitable for urethanes if you use them but you can use anything you can get your hands on cheap. As my skills progress I can advance to different paints and mediums... good luck to you!

I started on some old broken gaming controllers that had been in a draw for a 1,000,000 years. Try looking for some old stuff around the house. All the different shaped stuff should give you some great practice.

thanks for the replies guys! and shadow where are you at haha in in York county! From Maryland tho been up in pa since like 06 :p I have create paints and a few Wicked paints, that's all I can find around here at AC Moore and hobby lobby, closest airbrush retailer is in mechanicsburg almost an hour away :(

I do most of my practice on copy/printer paper , prefer on 90gr copy paper.
Some artworks too but I try to use heavy paper or other materials to make it last longer , look better or allow scratching and erasing

Last edited: