Why I prefer siphon feed

tatocorvette

Mac-Valve Maestro!
Hello,
We "car people" can be very opinionated. Rarely an airbrush conversation goes without touching on either internal vs external mix or the gravity vs siphon vs side feed topics. Sometimes, these end up in passionate yet pointless debates that spill into brand loyalty. In reality, choosing the right tool for the job will depend on the required application, the user's skill, experience and personal preference among other factors. That's like the argument of whether blue cars are faster than red cars. Everybody knows blue cars are faster. :)

Personally, I use and prefer siphon feed airbrushes. Keyword "prefer". I am not an illustrator artist like the majority here. I want to learn more about it but that's another topic. I use airbrushes to paint scale models and restore items like cameras, toys, etc. So my application and thus requirements, are different than those of an illustrator or canvas artist. I paint 3D objects so there is a lot of movement: left, right, up, down, in, out, rotation, yaw, pitch and roll like an aircraft. I use heavy paints like enamels and automotive lacquers including metallics and pearls, primers, clearcoats, urethanes, etc. Those are also important factors in choosing the right brush: nozzle size, paint capacity, etc.

Here are some of the reasons why I prefer siphon feed. Some may be relevant to other people, some may just be simple preference.

Unobstructed view of what I'm doing. The cup or jar sits below, out of line of sight. Just preference.

I use the classic color cup about 90% of the time. But it is very easy to swap to a larger jar if needed.