For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

Why the name?

Discussion in 'Open Bar!' started by Nouk, May 3, 2012.

1. Nouk

Nouk Young Tutorling

Okay, I'm not really sure where I should post this topic so I figured the open bar was my best shot...

Does anyone know why it's called an airbrush?

I've been thinking about it but I can't really come up with a good explanation. I mean It doesn't at all feel the same as working with a brush. At least in my opinion (I work as a freelancer, painting anything form faux marble to seaviews on the backyard wall). So anyone got an idea?
  2. Madbrush

Madbrush Guest

It's actually simple, it's because it's so small you can use it just like a paintbrush, but it works with air, and the guy who invented it wanted his money quickly so he just put "air" and "brush" together and came up with "Airbrush"

Hope this helps
  3. RebelAir

RebelAir Air-Valve Autobot!

Basically it would have been a bugger to use but one of the first inventors before Liberty Walkup took off with the idea was Stanleys Atomizer..It utilized a squeeze styled pump that add air to a paint medium and thus the idea of an "Airbrush" was formed..I suppose the word brush is a little misleading..but as he used it for photo and painting touch up and for shading purposes it essentially was just a fancy paintbrush of the time..I assume later the name stuck when I think Paasche took hold of the idea though the name may have come earlier, originally it was called an atomizer, but who would buy something called that LOLOL..Some interesting history can be found at the link below..

http://www.airbrushmuseum.com/airbrush_history_stanley_1.1.htm
  4. Madbrush

Madbrush Guest

This is exactly the same as what I said, except totally different, lol

Interesting link, thanks for that, and I checked out your stuff on youtube, awesome, I just know we are all going to learn loads from you.
  5. Nouk