Wondering on air brush recommendation for metal art

Z

zeaifgfl

Hi,

I'm new here and wanted to seek recommendations on air brushes for painting metal sculptures (personal hobby). When I've asked painters in the past, they always suggest HVLP auto paint guns. I tried out a mini-gun with a 1.0mm tip and painting some 1" square tube produced a lot of overspray, so I was looking toward a smaller setup like an air brush with a tip half that or even smaller. Even if it takes more time with a smaller tip to paint a flat surface, I'm fine spending the time when finishing. I'm new to airbrushing and painting but looking to get a setup to learn, fail and get better.

Thanks

Best place to start is the Airbrushtutors page, check out the information and tutorials there, that will give you a huge head start. Also, head along to the introductions page and tell us a bit about yourself... I mean we can;'t just be giving out secret airbrush information to any Tom, Dick or zeaifgfl who comes along and asks... :) Where do you live, what paint do you use, what sort of sculptures are you doing... Read the nettiquette as well, explains a bit about us and how the forum works. Look forward to hearing more from you.

Best place to start is http://www.airbrushforum.org/introductions/ with an introduction.
Airbrushes are all different for the person using it. They all will paint any surface or paintable material. So any airbrush will work But they question is what paint system are you using or plan on using?
All automotive paint will run through an airbrush, Waterbase designed for the airbrush will also work.
But not knowing where on this planet you live does not give us any room to recommend a vendor of where to buy supplies like airbrush, moisture traps, paint and reducer,
Next is how big are the sculptures ? Size of the piece also has to be considered when picking out the right tool for the job.