Totally new, have done lots of research, still have tons of questions!

M

Mimetic

Hey everyone!

I'm completely new to airbrushing/spray gunning; I don't even have a setup yet. However, I'm a great DIY'r with the ability to do research and learn quickly.

With that said, what I'm interested in doing is painting video game consoles and laptop/desktop cases. So, the material being painted will almost always be plastic (but occasionally metal), and pieces will range in size from 16"x16" down to 6"x3". The type of painting I'd like to do is just solid colors, with any details handled through waterslide decals or stencils. I have no interest (or ability) currently in doing free hand, illustration type work. I'd also like to use a urethane top coat to give a "thick" candy-like shine, but I'm also interested in matte clear coats for some contrast effects.

My questions are:

I believe I will need at least two tools for this size range. Should I be looking to buy just a standard spray gun and a mini "touch up" spray gun, or should I get an air brush for the smaller work?
Is it better to prime plastic or to use an adhesion promoter?
I've chosen Createx's Wicked Color line as my first paints for their color fastness, compatibility with most surfaces and relatively low cost. Does anyone have a different recommendation?
Are all urethane top coats ridiculously expensive? Is there another, cheaper option for obtaining an "automotive paint job" gloss?

Thanks in advance for any advice, guys!

welcome home Mimetic.

I also thought a bit like you, but I believe you will find your artistic bone :)

I wont be able to answer all your questions. But what I have done in the past is used my local dent doctor vehicle repair place to clear coat for me - so I wont need a special dust free, ventilated room.
wicked is a good choice, especially if you can get it locally.
The rest of the answers I will leave to others :)