Advice needed: which paint to buy for my new micron 0.18? (Combination with createx wicked)

M

maffie

Hello all!

A few weeks ago I was very lucky to buy to secondhand airbrushes. One Badger crescendo 175 new in box and a iwata custom micron cm-b allmost for free I think. I have payed €45,- for both.

I know that the iwata cm-b is a brush for people with lot of experience, and since I am a beginner i understand that it can Be hard for me. But my new iwata winks every day to me..so i can't ignore him (or her?).

Right now I use most of the time createx wicked and some wicked detail.
Is there a paint brand that you would advice me to use with the micron? The most importent thing is that I can spray it on top of the wicked paint, and that the pigments are fine enough.
I was thinking on Medea com-art, Because I was thinking that since it came from iwata Medea it should be good quality also?

Thanks for youre help!

Best wishes,
Maffie

Not sure ab out the top coating over the wicked but as paints the com-art is good, golden high flow is good, schminke is good, createx illustration is good, they all should work quite nicely.

I use wicked , Illustration (Createx) Com-art, HOK :D , Golden High Flow and all through a .18 set up on my micron and even in the .15 set up in my H&S infinity .
I do strain all my paint for the best possible flow I can get.
And you got a great deal on those two brushes even if you have to by a complete head unit for the micron you have a great deal.

Yeah as above just get some high performance reducer W500 thin it down till it flows to your needs, i get wicked through straight but pick the needle every 30'secs. Any acrylic paint will sit on top of wicked :)

All paints made specialy to be used with an airbrush will go through the micron (just have a look around here a lot of differnt brands are used with the mircron), which paint you want to use is up to you as there are as many oppinions as there are airbrushers.