Airbrush splatter on workpiece question

F

Fletch Whipp

Hi there, I was doing my first round of spraying a black/gold pearl midcoat over an opaque black base yesterday & inadvertently got a few spots on an otherwise good finish. I've searched far & wide how to address dealing with these spots (already understand the why aspect). My question is, should I spray over these spots? Sand back to the base & respray? Something else? Similar question I dabbed an area yesterday with a paper towel & it's left a crater type finish the size of a quarter on the piece, so the same question in dealing with this.

Yup, total noob! I'm cringing posting this, but hey, gotta start learning somehow right. Thanks in advance for your replies!

We need to know what black base is meaning type of paint, as well as that what type gold pearl meaning aclylic or solvent, some acrylics can contain small amounts of solvent which could be the of your crater.

Photos will help if you can get any and are you using an airbrush or spray gun?, the more info you give us, the better the help will be.

Also why not go to the introduction section and tell a little about yourself, approximate location, airbrushes you have and preferred paints and types of work are all handy for us to help you better in the future.

Hi there, thanks for the quick response. I'm spraying over a base of rustoleum opaque black primer. I'm using HOK Black gold pearl. Using a Master G444 dual action brush. Cheers!

As I suspected your hok is lifting the base when you try to wipe it, I would assume the base was rattle can and therefore not the most trustworthy of paints, you could have avoided the issue by use of an intercoat clear, instead of trying to clean the spots let them dry and sand down all damage, redo your base where needed and carefully apply your gold in more light passes so that it dries quicker and has less chance to bite into your base.