Help with set up to start painting lures

busanga

Double Actioner
Hi am new to airbrushing and indeed fishing lure making.

I would like advice on what equipment I would need to buy to start airbrushing lures.

In terms of budget I would be looking at something along the lines of the Iwata Eclipse HP-CS .

But would like to know if that is suitable, what other options and which compressor to use etc etc.

I am not an artist so I don't need to go too crazy on equipment but I also realize going too cheap can end up frustrating even a beginner like myself.

I am leaning towards the Iwata Eclipse HP CS, but have no idea if this is suitable for lure painting.. am just going on general Internet consensus that it is a decent all round airbrush...

Thanks for any advice and let me know if this is the correct forum to discuss this...

You are a beginner and seeking help, so yes, this is the correct section.
as discussed in your intro post, you cant really go wrong with the Eclipse. Once you gain more experience the brush will give better detail if you require it but starting out it can be a very forgiving brush too. I've seen many users just with an Eclipse and they produce great work.
Compressor, there are many to be found on Amazon/ebay/ harbour freight etc but make sure it has a tank and a moisture trap.
If you aren't sure just post up a link and we'll let you know if it will likely do the job for you

A quite air compressor is a blessing for everyone near by
The double head diaphragm that are taking the compressor market by storm these days.
Is a good start they will go in excess of 100psi with a 15 to 20 liter tank so it's not just limited to painting lures ⅜ drive rattle gun for 30 seconds, nail gun, painting a motorbike mudgaurd
Blowing up a car tyre. All good excuses 🤣 The price differences in the tank sizes is small to the overall cost in longevity of the compressor starting up every 2 to 5 minutes compared to 10 to 20 minutes