Newbie trying to clean up an old Paasche VL

MJester

Young Tutorling
Hello!
My name is Margaret and I am a newbie airbrush user trying to fix up an old Paasche VL to use in various craft/art projects.

I'm trying fully disassemble and clean this thing but what I believe is the air valve housing is completely stuck. I've tried soaking the body in lacquer thinner for several days but it hasn't loosened at all.

I'm not sure what was used in this before I got it but it seems to be resistant to the lacquer thinner.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 20240520_115801.jpg
The brush body
20240520_120055.jpg
The air assembly

Hello and welcome to the forum!

We will try to help as much as possible.
Dunking an airbrush in lacquer thinner is never a good idea. Any rubber O-ring or non solvent resistant part can be affected or destroyed.
You can try some heat like Ian suggested. I have also used penetrating fluid like PB Blaster on stuck parts. Have you tested the air valve? If it is working it may not be needed to be removed in the first place. But probably after been dunked in lacquer thinner it may need service.

Thanks,
Ismael

Should do, just make sure to only heat the valve so You dont damage the seals.

Hello and welcome to the forum!

We will try to help as much as possible.
Dunking an airbrush in lacquer thinner is never a good idea. Any rubber O-ring or non solvent resistant part can be affected or destroyed.
You can try some heat like Ian suggested. I have also used penetrating fluid like PB Blaster on stuck parts. Have you tested the air valve? If it is working it may not be needed to be removed in the first place. But probably after been dunked in lacquer thinner it may need service.

Thanks,
Ismael

Yikes!
Well I kinda figured some parts would get messed up, I do have a replacement for the air valve assembly if needed.
I don't have a regular compressor to test it with, just a crummy handheld one from Amazon.